← Blog

Writing a Different Story: A letter to the Mission Board

An “able-bodied” culture often forgets that those with disabilities see and experience the world quite differently.

This difference includes how we live out our Christian faith. Likewise, the non-disabled and disabled communities will inevitably have different ways of joining Jesus in mission.

But how do mission agencies accommodate such differences?

Here is an open letter from a mission leader who happens to be blind. As you hear his heart, please envision how God would have us renew community on mission together.

John Trotter’s words are challenging. And they reflect the convictions of the Disability in Mission Special Interest Group working under Missions interlink.  It will also be an area we will explore more at our upcoming annual conference. For more information contact national@missionsinterlink.org.au

Writing

"Dear Mission Board,

Most of you like me. We have spent time together, and you tell me how engaging I am in conversation. You have gotten comfortable with me and are even beginning to joke that I don’t look blind or seem like I have a visual disability. You can sometimes lament that it is almost like you are talking to a normal person. Thank you. Normal is what I was going for.

Many of your slogans, mission initiatives and strategies revolve around ministering to the marginalised. “We want to serve the poor. We care for those who are oppressed. We love the overlooked,” you say. I applaud this desire, but what do you do when the marginalized of society sits before you, desiring to be sent out to the mission field? I understand it’s easy for fear to slip in when trying something new. Numerous times in Scripture, God’s people have responded in fear instead of faith when presented with a paradigm shift in thinking. In the same way, it takes courage to move beyond viewing me as a mere recipient of mission. Do you have the imagination and foresight to believe that I could thrive as a participant in mission? I hope you do because the Lord has called and commissioned me to take the gospel to the world.

Perhaps you have never met a blind person or had a ministry relationship with someone who is disabled. What should I say to them? How do I talk to them? What happens if something doesn’t go smoothly? These questions are a common occurrence that I receive when people talk about engaging the blind. This is compounded by a mission board considering me for mission service. “Oh, but I don’t want him to feel uncomfortable,” you say. “I am concerned you won’t be able to do this.” You might have a lot of fears about me. Again, I understand fear, but in faith and love you could welcome me the way Jesus told us to welcome all to the banqueting table.

I understand that I live in a world made for the sighted, not for the blind.

Sadly, I am reminded of this every day, and almost daily, someone asks me what I can see. Honestly, such questions are exhausting. I don’t know if this is realistic, but I long for the day when the community of the King – the church – begins to write a different story. I wonder, though, if accessibility and accommodation is really the point of Jesus’ message on disability. Can communities of Christ in rural Nepal or the jungles of the Amazon who have no understanding of disability rights or any experience with all the helpful gadgets be fully inclusive? This can’t just be about western disability policy or being current. I don’t just want accommodation; I long to join Jesus on mission with you. I am asking you – honestly, yet boldly asking you – to live out what you have been proclaiming. As a mission leader, I know what radical welcome looks like. I have tasted the sweetness of no more “us and them.” However, as a “blind guy” in the mission community, I have rarely seen or felt such unity. I have felt welcomed, but rarely have I felt equal. Is it too much to ask that all our hands are in the pile together and that there is a seat at the table for me?

What I’m saying is Braille handouts, emailing slide shows descriptions of what is on a screen – your various accommodations are helpful, but you tend to think of such solutions first. They aren’t bad ideas at all, but for many disabled in your communities, it is not pragmatics that will ultimately form us for mission. There are advocates all around the world who have rattled the cage for these kinds of solutions, and I applaud them What I hope you gain from hearing me out in this letter is a shift in ethos. I don’t just want to be accommodated and protected. I don’t just long for your programs to be easy for me to access. I want to be on mission with Jesus with you. Do you think you have the courage to walk with me to see that happen?

It is not intuitive or effortless to create space for disability. Mission never is. And ultimately, we both know that this is not mostly about me, nor about all the disabled or marginalised people who will become part of your community.

This is about Christ and his Kingdom.

Together, we have a chance to get this right and reflect the matchless Kingdom of God to the world. Truly, you have made so much progress. Even in my lifetime, I have watched things dramatically shift. In the past, I was the guy everyone needed to see healed, so I could feel like a whole person. Now, the dial has moved towards over-protection and not wanting to do the wrong thing. Your love and heart are in the right place, but people with disability want someone to listen before espousing solutions. Do not be discouraged by my tone, but I am weary – many on the margins are weary.

In The Bible, Disability, and the Church: A New Vision of the People of God, Amos Yong reminds us that it is not the disabled themselves who have such an issue with their disability. It is often the constant reminders they receive from the broader culture that they somehow don’t belong or that they are in need of being rightly put together again. I am pleading with you not to make this assumption but to work with me hand-in-hand to announce and demonstrate Christ in your community. I am up for it. Let’s soar together, and if we fall, we will fall together. But please, please don’t relegate my contribution in the body of Christ to be one of sitting on the sidelines simply because you are uncomfortable or are unsure what the outcome will be.

On behalf of my disabled brothers and sisters who long to be on mission with you as full participants, I am not about to make a host of suggestions. Many people in your community have already figured out accommodations to make our lives a little less stressful. Local businesses and corporations show some beautiful ways of making things accessible for the disabled. Cosmetics, though, miss the mark. I think the issue is spiritual. The cross and mission of Jesus must be accessible. I long for a Kingdom vision.

  • We are all image bearers of God. “Then God said, ‘Let us make humankind in our image’” (Gen. 1:26 NET). If you do not give us a chance to lead, serve and attempt things for the Lord through the local church, we are robbed of our God-given design to be image bearers.

  • As parts of one body, each of us is a necessity. “The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So, it is with Christ. … those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable” (1 Cor. 12:12, 22 NIV). I know you know this, but would you dare to imagine with me that those on the margins can be indispensable contributors of God’s mission and not merely recipients of benevolence?

  • Christ established a new humanity at the cross. The imagery of no more “us and them” is so powerfully penned in Ephesians when Paul speaks of none of us being strangers or foreigners any longer. We are all part of God’s household; we are God’s family (Eph. 2:19-20). Regardless of your choice to hear this plea or not, it will not change the facts. We are all part of God’s family. With your influence and position, would you jump in on what God has already revealed in this upside-down kingdom? Or more accurately, his right-side-up kingdom? It is only upside-down from a worldly perspective.

Brothers and sisters (that is truly who you are to me), there is a lot at stake. The very nature and integrity of the mission of Jesus is on the line if we are not all participants. Jesus has invited me to the table. Will you?

I care for you and believe you have the courage to push this forward. Let’s join together to build the Kingdom of heaven as Christ intended.

With hope, Your brother and friend who happens to be blind."


Written By—John D. Trotter (Adapted from the Joni and Friends Blog with permission from the author)

 


John D. Trotter

John D. Trotter

John Trotter is Lead Teacher at Global Frontier Missions training cross cultural workers to serve the unreached and doctoral student at Fuller Theological Seminary writing on disability in missions.

"Not A Blog"How global mission helps the local church

Members Login

Log in for our Members and Associates.

Member Login

Contact Us

PO Box 5214 Pinewood VIC 3149

admin@missionsinterlink.org.au

+613 9013 4004

Sign up for our Newsletter

Missions Interlink Email Updates

Sign up!